Peace Lily

Botanical name: Spathiphyllum

Difficulty level: Easy. The Peace Lily is a resilient, adaptable, low-maintenance and easy-to-care-for house plant.

Peace Lily – General Description

The Peace Lily is a gracefully vibrant and elegant perennial that features large leaves and flamboyant white flowers—similar to those of a Calla Lily. The plant is native to tropical rain forests of America, and comes in a variety of sizes: anywhere from 61-127 cm tall.

The white blooms of the Peace Lily typically appear in the spring and are more of a modified leaf than a multi-petaled flower. As such, they look a lot like white flags of surrender/peace—hence the name, Peace Lily. Plants that are well cared for may bloom again in the autumn. The blossoms typically last for around two months, after which the plant enters a non-blooming period.

Along with being beautiful, the Peace Lily helps to cleanse the air that we breathe, by removing airborne toxins. It was featured in research performed by NASA (the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration) and is recognised as one of the Top Ten Household Air Cleaning Plants.

Plants and pots are sold separately 

How To Care For Your Peace Lily

Here’s some basic guidance on how to take good care of your Peace Lily.

Light. Peace Lilies thrive in low light conditions. They don’t need direct sunlight, and in fact prefer partial shade or bright indirect light from a nearby window. Peace Lilies can also tolerate fluorescent light, and have even been known to thrive in rooms with no windows at all.

Soil & Water. Provide your Peace Lily with evenly moist, well-drained soil. Watering at least once a week to keep the soil moist, is a good rule of thumb. The plant will sag when it needs water—making this part of its care quite easy.

Temperature & Humidity. Your Peace Lily will thrive indoors in temperatures that most people find quite enjoyable: Its preferred temperature range is 18-29°C, with relatively high humidity. It’s best to keep the plant away from cold drafts or temperatures below 7°c.

Nutrients & Fertiliser. Provide Peace Lilies that are growing in bright light a liquid 20-20-20 fertiliser about every six weeks. If the plant is growing in low light, then feed less frequently (i.e. every three months).

Toxicity. Peace Lilies are toxic/poisonous to both cats and dogs. If your cat or dog chews on a Peace Lily, it will cause irritation to its mouth and stomach. In most cases the animal will quickly stop eating the plant—and hence not ingest large enough amounts to cause serious poisoning. Nevertheless, these plants should be kept away from all pets and small children.

Pests & Other Problems. The Peace Lily is largely immune to insects and diseases. A regular wiping of the leaves tends to prevent aphids, spider mites, or mealybugs from accumulating. If these pests do happen to invade, spray the Peace Lily with an insecticidal soap.

Helpful Hints & Additional Care Tips

  • If your Peace Lily doesn’t bloom, this likely means that it’s not getting enough light. The solution is to move it to a brighter location.
  • Peace Lilies can be quite sensitive to chlorine—so if your water supply is heavily chlorinated, fill a watering can with water and let it stand overnight, so that the chlorine can diffuse before it’s used to water the Peace Lily.
  • The large leaves of the Peace Lily tend to accumulate dust. To keep the plant healthy and looking beautiful, wipe the leaves periodically with a damp sponge or cloth.

Customer Reviews

Based on 59 reviews
92%
(54)
7%
(4)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
2%
(1)
H
H.
Lovely plants!

Thanks, lovely online service for buying plants, and they arrived looking wonderful.

A
A.T.
Fast Delivery!

Ordered after 5pm on Monday the 24/2 and it arrived before lunchtime on the 26/2 in Melbourne in perfect condition! They look great!

c
c.h.
Gift

Gift recipient described the plant as Happy & Healthy & made her day - desired outcome achieved. Thank you

L
L.W.
Gift for a friend - great service!

i ordered a monstera as a moving gift for my friend in Australia (I'm in the UK) it arrive very promptly with lots of updates throughout and even enclosed a handwritten card I asked for. The plant itself was beautiful and very healthy!

H
H.
Excellent service, and beautiful plants! Thank you so much!

My plants arrived pretty quickly, in perfect condition, and they’re really beautiful! When I had a problem with the delivery guy, Irene called me right away, and really took care of me. It was a real pleasure dealing with Bloomspace, I’ll be back for more!

S
S.J.

Beautiful healthy plant and very well packed and delivered. Thank you

C
C.O.
Peace Lily (Spathiphyllum)

Easy, fast delivery. However, the plant is not very big, it is not as it looks in the picture.

v
v.p.

Monstera Deliciosa

E
E.D.
Healthy looking plant

The plant looks healthy. The delivery time was reasonable. However, a little expensive compared to other plant nursery.

C
C.
Review of Monsteria

The plant was one of three. ordered from Sydney to Melbourne The first plant arrived in approx 3 days after the order and all was fine. The other 2 plants did not arrive, and I was told by the courier that another courier would deliver them. Upon making enquires I found out that the other two boxes were still in Sydney (in boxes - with no climate control) at this point I had requested that the other two plants be cancelled as they did not arrive in the allotted time. To my surprise the plant arrived 2 weeks later. It was in very bad shape. The plant was dry, and when taken out of the box - the leaves burned in light sun because they were not used to any daylight at all. I am slowly nursing it back to health but it looks awful and will not look healthy for a long time. The planter was the wrong colour as well. Your courier should be fired. Also, the cost of the plants is not good value for money - I have since found plants 3 times the size at bunnings for the same price. And I don't have to worry about them being left in boxes with couriers either.

Thanks for the review Cynthia. We are continuously working on our shipping and logistics to ensure these incidents don't occur. Once we became aware that there had been a mistake with the courier company, we offered to resend both the 2 plants and the pot to you again, but you declined. Following that we provided a refund within 3 days of you having had made your purchase. We're really sorry you didn't have a good experience with Bloomspace. The two plants you received (albeit two weeks later and in poor condition) were essentially free, and why you were refunded. We're glad the plants are making a recovery. Unfortunately your experience was an anomaly rather than the norm.
translation missing: en.general.search.loading